Lok Sabha poll results 2024 live updates: INDIA offers deputy PM post to Nitish

Exit Polls have predicted a strong show by BJP and a setback for the opposition’s INDIA bloc in Lok Sabha elections.

The BJP-led NDA has once again crossed the majority mark of 272 as it is leading in 295 seats. The NDA and Congress-led INDIA were in a neck-and-neck race in the early trends.



Alliance Leads Won Total
NDA 294 3 297
INDIA 227 1 228
Other 18 0 18
Last update: 3 pm

Live updates

Time Updates
3:00 pm I.N.D.I.A offers deputy PM post to Nitish, Special Status to Andhra Pradesh in bid to woo NDA partners
2:55 pm Smriti Irani trails in Amethi by over 88,000 votes. (Read more)
1:32 pm DMK and allies all set for a sweep in Tamil Nadu; BJP crosses 10 percent vote share. (Read more)
12:51 pm Shashi Tharoor is trailing by 16386 votes in Kerala’s Thiruvananthapuram.
12:00 noon Jailed independent candidate leads in J&K Baramulla; Omar, Sajad trail (Read more)
11:35 am Prajwal Revanna leads in Hassan (Read more)
11:00 am Ex-Karnataka CM Kumaraswamy leads with 1.20 lakh votes in Mandya
(Read more)
10:40 am Congress headed for best ever show after 2014 elections, show early trends (Read more)
10:35 am Narendra Modi is trailing In Varanasi
9:30 am NDA crosses majority mark.
9:20 am INDIA crosses 200-mark in the early trends.
9:15 am NDA inches closer to the majority mark.
9:00 am NDA crosses 250-mark in the early trends.
8:50 am Kishan Reddy offers prayers at Bhagyalakshmi temple in Hyderabad. (Read more)
8:40 am NDA crosses 200-mark in the early trends.
8:30 am NDA crosses 150-mark in the early trends.
8:25 am NDA crosses three-digit figure.
8:20 am NDA, INDIA bloc in neck-and-neck race in early trends.
8:00 am The counting of votes begins.

Counting of votes began for Lok Sabha seats at all centres

The counting of votes for all seven phases of the Lok Sabha elections will begin at 8 a.m. on Tuesday amid tight security arrangements across all counting centres.

Many pollsters have forecast a third consecutive term for Prime Minister Narendra Modi, making it a focal point of discussions.

MS Education Academy

Should he secure another term, Prime Minister Modi stands poised to match the historical feat of former Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru, who remains the only leader to get elected as PM for three straight terms.

Exit polls predicted strong show by BJP

Ahead of the counting of votes, the Exit Polls have predicted a strong show by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and a setback for the opposition’s INDIA bloc in the Lok Sabha elections.

Roughly seven Exit Polls have projected approximately 350-370 seats for the BJP-led NDA in the 543-member Lok Sabha. They also indicated that the INDIA bloc might end up with around 107-140 seats, falling significantly short of the majority mark of 272 seats.



Three Exit Polls — India Today-My Axis India, India TV-CNX, and News24-Todays Chanakya — forecast that the NDA would secure over 400 seats.

Many other Exit Polls indicated a significant victory for the BJP in Congress-ruled Karnataka, while the India TV-CNX poll suggested that the Chandrababu Naidu-led TDP and the NDA are poised to sweep the polls in Andhra Pradesh.

The Exit Poll findings were released on Saturday evening, immediately after the conclusion of the seventh and final phase of polling.



Prime Minister Modi and the BJP have expressed confidence that the party-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) will achieve a historic victory by securing more than 400 seats in the Lok Sabha.

INDIA bloc will secure victory in the elections, claims Congress

Meanwhile, the Congress is claiming that the INDIA bloc, a coalition of over 25 opposition parties, is poised to secure victory in the elections with more than 295 seats.

The opposition parties have instructed their counting agents to closely oversee the vote-counting process on Tuesday, emphasising the importance of obtaining Form 17C, which includes the tally of votes registered at each polling station.



Also on Tuesday, the counting of votes for the Assembly polls in Andhra Pradesh and Odisha, along with by-elections to different Assembly constituencies, will be taken up.

The general elections were held in seven phases from April 19 to June 1.

With inputs from IANS